Dark Matter: ‘I, me and myself’

51PgEc+wSIL

Dark Matter

1 (1)1 (1)1 (1)

 

A Physics teacher gets kidnapped and wakes up to find his world is not his anymore. His past has been changed and he wants to get back the life he had.

I think I can modestly declare myself as a bit of a veteran on- alternate reality, doppelgangers and multiverse with infinite possibilities. I have always loved fiction, movies, TV series regarding these genres and clearly have enriched myself with almost all I could find- Predestination (one of my favorite movies), Interstellar, Primer, 12 Monkeys, Futurama, The Twilight Zone, Star Trek, Doctor Who, The Dark Tower, Multiversity, Earth 2 and many many more.

So, it is not Mr Crouch’s fault that Dark Matter felt a pretty much easy ride for me. It was easy to call out the antagonist just from the book premise, I knew where it was going all along and almost guessed the end by the middle of the book (no shit Sherlock, the author spilled it out 3-4 chapters prior to the end).

What really worked:
Wussy protagonist becoming hero- check,
Family anchor to get back to- check,
Too hot to handle action- check,
‘You are me’- check.

What really sucked:
The hero is a complete wuss and has purely 1 dimensional mind,
Author sometimes gave away too much,
The ending could have been waaaay better.
Erroneous logic supporting the true hero among the doppelgangers.
Completely omitting the other worlds when it comes to finale.
And the bizarre writing style of-
Using.
One or two.
Words.
As.
Full sentences.

This book had the ability to reach the sky but it didn’t. For anyone who is not a burnout as I am, this book is bombastic for sure. So, for a quick one-time, this was a fun read. I refer this to anyone who loves reality-bending and mind-***king stories (just go easy with this one, OK?).

Leave a Reply

